Who can come to South Africa, and what do they need to enter?

As of 5 October 2020, citizens of the following countries visiting South Africa will again receive tourist visas on arrival: South Korea, Spain, Italy, Germany, Hong Kong, Singapore, USA, UK, France, Portugal, and Iran.

HOWEVER, all travelers are also subject to the Covid-19 protocols, and if the country they are coming from is listed as a high-risk country in terms of Covid-19, they cannot come into the country for leisure travel. This list will be updated regularly and currently includes the USA, UK, France, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, Greece, Portugal, the UAE and Iran (see full list here http://www.dha.gov.za/index.php/list-of-high-risk-covid-19-countries).

Even if you travel from a high risk country, but have good reasons for needing to come to South Africa, you may enter the country if you have been pre-approved through a dedicated process. Another option is to travel to a low-risk country and spend 10 days there before continuing to South Africa. All persons arriving in South Africa need to produce a negative Covid-19 test not older than 72 hours. You are welcome to contact our team for advice and support.